Friends of Triel

Leatherhead and District Twinning Association

Mole Valley, Mole Valley District Council and the Constituency of Mole Valley

Mole Valley

Mole Valley lies at the heart of Surrey, mid-way between London and the Sussex coast. It has a population of approximately 85,000 people. The majority of the district's population live in the main towns and villages of the district, the largest of which are Dorking and Leatherhead.

Mole Valley's countryside is extensive, accounting for more than 90% of the district's area. It contains a host of very attractive villages and hamlets. Large parts are included within the Surrey Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Mole Valley District Council

MVDC Chairman

Mole Valley District Council is based on Dorking and lead by a Chairman. The Chairman is a civic role and is usually elected in May at the Annual Council meeting, serving until the same meeting the following year. The role is similar to a Mayor in that he or she is the first representative of the district. The role is ceremonial and the Chairman has no decision-making powers unlike the role of an elected Mayor, which exists in some parts of the UK.

Councillor David Mir (pictured left) was elected Chairman of the Council for the 2016/17 Municipal Year on 24 May 2016 replacing Councillor Margaret Cooksey who was the Chairman for the previous year.

The District of Mole Valley comprises 21 wards (click here to view map) and 41 Councillors. The smaller wards are represented by one councillor, whilst the larger ones are represented by two and sometimes three.

One-third of the councillors are elected every four years which means that there are no elections one year in four.

The Constituency of Mole Valley

The constituency of Mole Valley is represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament in London by a Member of Parliament (MP). MPs are elected at the UK General Election which is generally held every five years. Mole Valley’s current MP is Sir Paul Beresford who has held the position since 1997.

The Mole Valley Constituency differs from the Mole Valley District as it includes five wards which are not in Mole Valley District but part of the neighbouring Guildford Borough Council in the west and doesn’t include some Mole Valley wards which instead form part of the neighbouring Epsom and Ewell Constituency in the east.